Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > The Lovely Bones Review

The Lovely Bones Review


My rating 4 Stars
I couldn’t help myself. I know that The Lovely Bones wasn’t anywhere near being next in my queue but after looking at what was in store for me—it just wasn’t looking good; I said screw it! The Lovely Bones came in the mail today so I watched it and damn it, I enjoyed it. I had a good feeling that I was going to like this movie even though a lot of people hated it. But to me this idea was so unique, I have never heard of anything like this movie.

Of course Stanley Tucci was incredible! What an effing A-Hole! He played that part so convincingly that I grew an undeserved hatred for the actor. I have been a fan of Tucci for a while. I know he’s a good actor, I just didn’t know that he could play a character in such a way that would make me hate the actor. Because part of me thinks that to be able to successfully play this part he had to become that horrible monster…that, that…thing! All I wanted to do was reach into the screen, grab him, shake him and cry out, “Why, why?” This role couldn’t have been easy for him to do. Like the role of Mo’Nique in precious, Tucci brought the devil right to my monitor screen and I despised him for it. Well done sir!

I don’t care what the critics think on this one. They are dead wrong. This is a really good movie. It is what movies should be and Peter Jackson did an amazing job directing it. This movie wasn’t about a 14 year old getting raped and killed. They never even showed you that. The movie was about how the murder affected her entire family. How they were affected, torn and broken up. And I thought this was done almost to perfection.

Unfortunately there were a couple of things that bugged me about the film. There was one scene that I didn’t think should have been part of the movie. Maybe this was what other critics didn’t like. I thought it took away from the story. I didn’t even understand why it was there to begin with and it almost lost me completely. Thankfully, the ending more than made up for it. But for a minute, it did look like a really bad fumble and I thought I was going to be left extremely disappointed. Thank God, I was wrong.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

