Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > Me and Orson Welles Review

Me and Orson Welles Review


My rating 3.5 Stars
What’s going on here? Is Me and Orson Wells a play or is it a movie? I seriously couldn’t tell the difference. The movie felt like a play of a play performing a play and that confused me at first. It made me forget that I was in fact watching a movie. The question is, was that a good thing or a bad thing? It all depends, do you like plays? If you do then you’ll probably like this movie. If you don’t, then by all means do not watch this film. If you don’t like plays, if you detest them, you are done! There is no need to go on reading this short review. If you do like a good play, by all means, continue.

If you have decided to continue reading my review it is probably because you enjoy a good play here and there. Or maybe you just love my writing—I can’t imagine why, but in either case here we go. I’ll assume you like plays. Since you like them so much, I think you are going to enjoy this movie. The performances in it are akin to those of the stage. There is witty dialog, good performances, romance, back stabbings, lots of those actually. The play… I mean the movie has something special for everyone.

This is a good story and I think it’s one that people will enjoy. I especially liked the sets, the clothing and the music. The movie is set in the 1950’s and it really did look the part. It would be nice to get the opinion of someone who lived through the era. I would like to know how close it was to the real deal. It looked really nice to me.

However, looks aren’t everything. When watching a movie I believe story is key and like I said this was a good story. I did, however, found the second act to be a little slow. The movie starts out strong and ends very effectively, the middle makes you wish they had either shortened it a bit or add just a touch more of excitement. There are a few key moments in the second act, so I can’t even recommend that you fast forward through it, but nevertheless, even with the slow middle the movie is still worth watching. If you really want to watch this film, don’t let me stop you.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

