Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > The Young Victoria Review

The Young Victoria Review


My rating 4 Stars
I don’t normally like period pieces like The Young Victoria, but I must say, I really enjoyed this one quite a bit. Perhaps it can all be attributed to Emily Blunt’s performance which was wonderful, pure genius. She was stunningly beautiful and played her part flawlessly. She is quite the thespian. I have come to respect and admire her work immensely and I now look forward to films that star with her. I have yet to see a movie in which she stars that I did not enjoy in one way or another. I will admit I wasn’t exactly looking forward to this one, but thank God that my initial judgment was dead wrong.

To complement Blunt’s performance the movie also boasted a great story, marvelous sets, and gorgeous costumes. It is very obvious when you watch this film that the makers of it poured their hearts and souls to make this film look as splendid as it could be. Of course without the right person to capture the beauty of all of these elements, this movie could have easily fallen short. Thankfully, the cinematography was stunning, interesting and unique; it was pure nirvana for the senses of sight. Hagen Bogdanski used the camera in ways I have never seen before and I loved it. It made the movie even more enjoyable. I thought his use of focus and jump cuts were brilliant and brave. This is an excellent film that can be enjoyed by anyone, even if you’re not a fan of period pieces, I did. Bravo!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

