Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > Pirate Radio Review

Pirate Radio Review


My rating 3.5 Stars

I really liked Pirate Radio. I thought it was a fun movie with excellent music and good performances. Not much of a story thought. The movie focused more on the entire group as a whole, giving you bits and pieces of each individual, but not following up on any of them. That was a bit of a bummer, but understanding that at a 117 minutes, trying to tell the story of an entire group of people isn’t very plausible. It’s just that I would have liked to at least seen one of the character’s story unfold. They were all so unique and interesting. I guess I’ll just have to see it in the light that the entire crew was one character and I guess that’s okay.

The main story is quite interesting. I found it educational as well as very inspirational. In light of some recent events that have transpired in my not so distant past that I will not divulge at the moment for fear that I may just be adding fuel to the fire. The story of people going against their government to say what they want to say and play the music they want to play really resonated with me. It was very emotional and that is why I liked this movie so much. As a movie it is not the best, but it played so well as a personal hero and if you’re a fan of music and sticking it to the Man…well there’s just nothing like it.

Philip Seymour Hoffman was also magnificent. I really think he has grown as an actor. I now look forward to watching his movies. Ever since I saw his incredible performance in Doubt; his performance in this movie reinforced that assessment.

So even though the movie isn’t all that, especially the really hokey ending! I am still going to recommend people watch it. Just think of it as a really long 60’s era music video. With great costumes and great people; it is the party of a life time and it makes you wish you had been there to enjoy it in real life.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

