Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > The Messenger Review

The Messenger Review


My rating 5 Stars

The Messenger is one of the most difficult movies I’ve had to endure. Watching notice after notice each one worse than the other and it never got any easier. The only thought that went through my mind was “What a horrible job it is to be the barer of such news!” I would almost rather be in the front lines putting my own life at risk than to tell a mother, a father, a wife that their little boy or husband had just been killed in action especially after some of them had just talked to them the night before.

The first half of this movie was all about the job of Casualty Notification. I had to stop the movie several times to compose myself. I couldn’t handle it! I know this was just a movie, but the actors did such amazing job that it felt real, it was real! The human drama that made up the first half of this movie was overwhelming at times. You couldn’t help but think how do the people that actually do this, do this and not go crazy? I can honestly say that I couldn’t do this job. It is just terrible to have to be the bearer of bad news, but to have to do it for a living… I cannot even imagine!

This is an amazing film! Well done! One of the best films I’ve seen in a long time. It is an incredible story in which the actors did it such incredible justice.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

