Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > Aliens in the Attic Review

Aliens in the Attic Review


Aliens in the Attic

Aliens in the Attic is a great kids movie. It is appropriate and entertaining for all ages, including their parents. It’s one of the silliest and most fun kid’s movie I’ve had the pleasure of watching in a long time.

My rating 3.5 Stars

I’m starting to appreciate kid’s movies a lot more than I have in recent times. They are simple, yet curiously entertaining. They are also innocent with pure intensions and it doesn’t take much thinking to follow along. When I was a kid, I used to love these films. They were great! They were funny and they kept me out of trouble—for most part. When I grew up, I developed a more mature taste in movies. Since I have no children of my own yet, there really hasn’t been any reason for me to watch these movies, so I haven’t. I mean, what’s the point, they are just for kids and that’s okay, kids need entertainment also. However, as part of my project I have to watch all movies including kid’s movies. And you know what? It’s been really fun. The kid in me has almost been begging me for more.

So I’ll take advantage of the situation for the time being and watch them. It’s almost like a guilty pleasure to watch these films. And I don’t expect much from them either, in fact, every time I watch one I go in expecting it to be utterly terrible, but I have been pleasantly surprised most of the time. Perhaps it’s time I should start watching more kid’s movies even after I’m finished with my little project. I am after all just a big kid at heart.

Aliens in the Attic was about two related families that rented a summer house for the season. The kids were a wide range of ages from 5 to 18 years old. So there was something for every age. There were 7 kids total and a few adults. However, the adults were pretty useless in this movie, except for the grandmother, Nana, played by Doris Roberts, she was a riot! The kids were all related of course and just like any child stuck in a summer home with not much to do, meaning no TV and no X-Box, they made up their own games and played around the house. While they were goofing around on the roof, they encounter a team of little alien invaders who wanted to take over the Earth. The little aliens attacked the kids after proclaiming that they have come in “pieces” (a mistake made by their leader during translation of their language), but they weren’t successful. The kids managed to evade the attack and locked the aliens in the attic therefore prevented their escape until they came up with what to do with them.

The conflict between the kids and the aliens was very comedic and innocent. I found myself laughing time and time again. The aliens had a weapon that would allow them control the adults with a remote control. The weapon was useless against kids, an unfortunate discovery for the aliens after they realized that children are wired differently than adults. When one of the kids got a hold of one of the remotes the slapstick comedy just poured in and it seemed to me like non-stop laughter. I haven’t had that much fun since Apple released the IPhone! At one point they had a video game style fight between the Nana and another adult. One of the kids was controlling Nana while one of the aliens was controlling the other adult. It was one of the funniest scenes I have seen in a while. Needless to say that Nana kicked the crap out of the other.

The kids had a mission; they had to protect the earth from the invading aliens at all cost. They developed sophisticated weaponry like potato guns, they armed themselves with rakes and crow bars, they threw illegal fireworks at them, and they even managed to turn one of the aliens against his own people, without water boarding too! Yes, the story is pretty ridiculous, but children won’t care because they will be too busy laughing just like you will be the minute you let go of reality, sit down and watch something silly for the sake of entertainment.

I loved this film. I laughed my butt off from start to finish. So the acting wasn’t all that great, and the story was a little hokey and it stared Kevin Nealon for Pete’s sake! Yes, when I saw his ugly mug I thought, “Oh great! There goes the movie!” Luckily for me, Kevin didn’t have a lot of screen time, so it was perfect.

The movie was all about the kids. It had a simple plot that had just the right amount of inappropriateness for young children and just the right amount of violence to keep them engaged in the film without it being too much for them. I also think that this film works pretty well with parents if they wanted to watch this with their children, in fact I encourage it. I think the parents would probably get a kick out of watching their kids laugh at the movie, they should have a lot of fun watching it.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

