Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > I Love You, Beth Cooper Review

I Love You, Beth Cooper Review


I Love You, Beth Cooper

I Love You, Beth Cooper was hated by both critics and viewers alike. I think the movie was a bit misunderstood. This movie is not a teens movie, instead it is a fantasy movie for the 30 something nerds and geeks.

My rating 2.5 Stars

For my project, I toyed with the idea of putting I Love You, Beth Cooper straight into my do-not-watch list, but I didn’t and do you know why? (Of course you don’t! Why do people always ask that stupid question—as if people could read minds! Sometimes the idiot that’s being asked the question responds with a purely speculative answer which can at times come across as insulting and then the person asking the question gets all, “WHAT? NO! Why would you think that?” Why are people so odd? Oh, sorry!) I’ll tell you the real reason why I watched it. I saw it because practically every critic hated it! The viewers weren’t big fans either. The movie ended up losing money! That means that people also hated this movie. Yes, every single person on Earth watched this movie and vowed to flambé the writers. Tough crowd!

Joining I Love You, Beth Cooper in the category of bad movies in 2009 were New Moon and Bride Wars. However, unlike Beth Cooper, New Moon received minimal acclaim from respected critics and Bride Wars had success at the box office in spite of its terrible reviews by both critics and viewers. Beth Cooper had the “honor” of being the standard to which all bad movies in 2009 were compared. Every time I would read a review about a bad movie, they always said the same thing, “At least it wasn’t as bad as Beth Cooper.” Because Beth Cooper was universally hated and reviled unlike the other two, I had to see the worst of the worst and witness it for myself and guess what? It wasn’t all that bad.

I still consider Miss March to be the worst movie of 2009 and I’ve seen a host of really bad movies. Some even come close to Miss March. Beth Cooper can’t hold a candle to Miss March when it comes to bad film. That doesn’t mean that I love it, but the moniker of worst movie of the year it did not deserve. In fact, I’ll even go as far as to say that I enjoyed a lot of the movie. I wouldn’t shout it out to the world or sky-write it—does a blog count? The fact is there were some very funny parts and some nice moments to the film. I wouldn’t say that it’s for everybody, but then who is it for?

I found pin pointing an audience for this movie rather difficult. On its surface it looked like an ordinary movie for teens, but was it really? Yes, there were graduating high school students involved, there was illegal drinking going on, some house parties, some sexual themes, some fights, name calling, bullies, blah, blah, blah… However, here’s my point, if this were a teen movie, then why did the teens hate it so much?

Chris Columbus was the director of this movie and is one of the most brilliant directors of all time. In fact, I’m willing to bet that of all of your favorite movies, at least one of them was directed by Chris. He directed great movies like Gremlins, The Goonies, Adventures in Babysitting, Home Alone, the first two Harry Potter movies, I can’t see him making a kids movie and then having the kids hate it. I mean, let’s face it, the man is a genius and he knows his audience. I don’t think this movie was for teens, but I think I may have an idea who the audience was.

I am willing to bet dollars to pesos that this movie was made for the nerdy 30-40 year old. I consider myself a geek. I wouldn’t go as far as to say I am a nerd. Oh, who am I kidding? I probably am a nerd! That must explain why I enjoyed this movie and it also proves my point that the audience for this movie was the adult nerds who would just love to go back in time and have one more shot at the jocks and the cool crowd. We would probably mess it up yet again. Once a nerd, always a nerd!

I don’t recommend many people watch I Love You, Beth Cooper, unless you fall in that small category that I just explained. However, no matter how bad this movie was for the rest of the world I have to give some recognition to the casting directors of this movie. They picked actors that looked and fit the parts they were playing instead of conforming to some sort of stereotypical nerd, jock or goddess. The nerds were just regular guys and the girls were cute, diverse, of normal intelligence and most importantly they were non-sticks. I admired that throughout the whole movie. In my opinion that was very well done. Of course if that is the best I can come up with for the good quality of the movie, you can imagine just how bad this movie really was, unless you’re a 35 year old geek or nerd like me!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

