Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen Review

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen Review


Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

I hated this movie from start to finish. I think my IQ dropped a hundred points after watching this heaping pile of metal rubble. Transformers, more than meets the eye—my balls!

My rating 1.5 Stars

I remember when I was a young kid one of my favorite cartoons on TV was the Transformers. They really were more than meets the eye! I was fortunate enough to have parents that could buy these toys for me. Of course this was also during a time when toys were relatively cheaper. I don’t have children, so I don’t buy a lot of toys these days, but I have noticed that they are pretty expensive, especially those name brand toys like Transformers. When I was growing up there were three types of Transformer toys: the cheap ones that were under $10, the mid-priced ones that were under $20 and the expensive ones that were over $20. I think I had all of the cheap ones and a few of the mid-priced ones and perhaps one or two expensive ones.

My parents would buy me one of the cheap ones almost every week when my stepfather was paid. The mid-priced ones, I would buy on my own by saving up my allowance. The expensive ones, well, I would get one or two for Christmas or maybe on my birthday. I remember one Christmas I hit the jackpot; I got several cheap ones, a few mid ones and three expensive ones. I loved those toys, they were great! I wonder what ever happened to them! Oh, that’s right, they were passed down to my little brother who disintegrated them!

I also loved watching the cartoons. I’d watch them religiously. I even had a few on VHS. When the movie came out in the ’86, I went crazy! Those of you who are doing the math right now and realize that I was in my early teens in ‘86, yes, I was a big geek! I had no interests in girls! I was more interested in my Transformers. When the movie came out, I went to see that all by myself. I told you I was a geek! In fact that was the only movie I have ever seen in the theaters by myself and more than once. However, if I remember correctly, it wasn’t a particularly good movie, but who cares, it was the Transformers and they even threw in a curse or two! How cool! I’ll always be that fat little kid!

He he, I’m all grown up now, but I still like the idea of robots changing into different vehicles and stuff like that. That’s just plain fun. When the live action movie came out a few years ago I didn’t hesitate for a second to go see it. I went to see it with a few friends and no matter how hokey it was I enjoyed it quite a bit. I thought they did a nice job and encompassing the spirit of the cartoon, but it was also sophisticated enough for us big kids who used to love the show, but now find such things uninteresting. I thought it was great, it was fun and pretty darn cool! And it brought back some nice memories.

Last year they came out with a second part and it all went down-hill like a Toyota with a prepubescent driver. For some reason, Michael Bay decided to consult ever single cliché encyclopedia out there and then he included the worst ones in the movie. We’re talking about stupid hot chicks, jive talking black stereotype transformers sporting gold teeth who couldn’t read, obnoxious American tourists that don’t like foreign food, and politicians who think they are above everything. The movie is just one cliché after another. After the clichés comes the non-stop action. I love action as much as the next guy, but there is such a thing as too much action. You need a story to balance things out. This movie had no balance; it was cliché, action and nothing more. The story was a joke and they knew it. The dialog was awful, it was worse than any of the cartoons that I remember.

Transformers 2 was a poor excuse for a movie. I’m told that Michael Bay was pressured to release this second film by the producers. They just wanted to hurry up and start making money. I am glad that they didn’t get my $10. It is a real shame when movie producers use a popular genre to make a buck. I often wonder, don’t they realize that if they put some thought into the story they might get more of an audience? I hated this movie from start to finish. I think my IQ dropped a hundred points after watching this heaping pile of metal rubble. Transformers, more than meets the eye—my balls!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

