Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > My Life in Ruins Review

My Life in Ruins Review


My Life in Ruins

My Life in Ruins, if you’re over 14 skip this movie entirely. It is ignorant, idiotic and not funny at all.

My rating 2.5 Stars

Remember back in 2002 when a little film called My Big Fat Greek Wedding came along and everyone who saw it thought it was just wonderful? Do you remember that movie? That was a great movie. It was written by Nia Vardalos who also played the leading role of Toula and she was brilliant. When I first saw Big Fat Wedding I fell in love with it right away. I thought it was one of the most original and funniest movies I had seen in so long. I thought Nia was just perfect. I thought, here’s a chick that gets it, she knows what funny is supposed to be. I thought we were going to be in for some nice treats after Big Fat Wedding. And like everyone else, I waited, and waited, and waited for that next funny movie, but it never came.

Finally in 2009, I saw that Nia was back on the big screen in a movie called My Life in Ruins. I was so excited. I couldn’t wait for this movie to come out, I was dying, I was itching, and I just knew it was going to be great! However, when the movie finally came out, it was ripped apart by the critics. Not great, but I don’t always trust the critics, they are my starting point, but I don’t let them be the sole reason to avoid a movie. I like to do a bit more research before I dismiss a movie. After all, critics are just human and they are often wrong. Sometimes one critic may hate something and then everyone else just jumps on the hating bandwagon depending on how influential that critic is.

I started to lose faith after doing a lot of research on this movie, but I still wanted to see it. Not so much because I had to watch it as part of my project, but because I enjoyed Big Fat Wedding so much, I thought maybe the movie won’t be as bad as everyone else thought it is. Maybe my research was wrong! I hoped!

I finally got a chance to see the movie and even though it wasn’t as bad as Land of the Lost or What Goes Up, it wasn’t that far behind. The movie isn’t quite shit, but it is the molecular bond that holds the shit together. I think I could best describe this movie as a big screen mistake. It is almost as if they wrote this movie as a TV sitcom, but it must have been rejected by network producers and executives. I imagine that Mike Reiss, the writer, took the story and made a TV movie out of it, but by some sort of mishap, perhaps it was accidentally misplaced on the wrong script pile and it ended up on the big screen instead. I kept expecting commercial breaks while I was watching.

The movie wasn’t very funny. I also didn’t much appreciate all of the stereotypes that they placed on all of the different tourists. It’s not that I have a problem with stereotypes, but they seemed to be so cliché and boring. About the only thing that was halfway decent about the film was Richard Dreyfuss. He had a couple of mildly amusing lines, but that is just about it. Of course, a couple of quirky lines aren’t enough to make a movie entertaining.

Not to worry, not all is lost. I think kids might like the movie and for good reason. Mike Reiss has been writing for cartoon shows for some time now. He’s written for The Simpsons, Horton Hears a Who, Ice Age, and a few other Disney shows. I think My Life in Ruins is very childish, overly simplistic, and almost cartoonish in nature. It just doesn’t have anything that an adult might find appealing.  I think children might identify with the ignorance and the innocence of this movie and they might even find the Greek sights and history interesting. However, if you’re over 14, skip this movie entirely.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

