Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > Away We Go Review

Away We Go Review


Away We Go

Away We Go is an incredibly heartwarming story about a young couple about to start a family. John’s and Maya’s genuine performances were extraordinarily moving and worth a look of this undoubtedly unique and entertaining film.

My rating 4.5 Stars

I love watching movies. I’ve been watching them for as long as I can remember. Some of my earliest memories are of me watching movies on TV with my parents. I realize how that must sound, but it doesn’t matter, what’s done is done; it made me who I am today. I am not going to complain about that, what I am trying to say is that I grew up with movies; they were like a sibling to me. I can honestly say that I learned most of what I know from them, including the language I currently speak. I may have learned English in school taught by teachers, but I perfected it through film.

Last year when I was sitting at work petrified that I was going to lose my job I was trying to come up with ideas for me not to focus on that terrible reality. I knew I wanted to write, but I also knew it needed to be about a recurrent subject that I could write on a weekly basis for at least a year. I thought about the things I already knew about like: curling, dogs, movies, music, programming, food & drink, and web design. I thought about themes that interested me like: parenting, philosophy, filmmaking, and others. Of course I thought about writing about my life too, but my life is pretty boring. In other words I am quite happy. I have a happy and healthy marriage, I have good work ethics and I don’t have many crazy friends. Well, there are a couple, but that’s another story. No one wants to hear about how happy someone is.

I decided to go with movies because…I know them, I understand them, plus I get to express my opinion which means I am never wrong! It’s perfect! It’s a win/win situation and it has worked like a charm for the past few months. The reason I bring all this up right now is because when I was conceiving my project there were a few films that influenced me in one way or another to go with movies as my writing subject: Julie & Julia, Sunshine Cleaning, The Hurt Locker. I wanted to write about these movies because I wanted people to know about them because they are such great films. Then there were those movies that I hadn’t seen, but I was really looking forward to seeing: Away We Go, Paper Heart, and Avatar. When I decided to do this, even after I compiled my Do Not Watch list, I knew that I was going to be watching some doozies. I knew that I would have to endure some really bad cinema, but I didn’t care. I love movies and I know that you have to go through a lot of crap to find something nice. You have to go through a lot of psychos to find the perfect friend. And you have to go through a lot of rubble to find that flawless diamond. It’s just part of life. It’s what makes it exciting and worth living. Finding that one great movie is worth watching a hundred bad ones, at least it is for me.

I knew I was going to like Away We Go. It just seemed like such a nice picture. Plus Sam Mendes, the director, has produced some excellent films in the past, so I knew I was in for a real treat. I just had no idea the impact this movie would have on me. I didn’t know how involved I would get with these characters. I absolutely loved this film.

Away We Go was about a young married couple who were about to embark on a journey to find the perfect life for their soon to be born daughter. However, as they went from city to city visiting friends and family they were discouraged by the fact that most people were just nuts. Their goal was to find people that would share in their lives and that believed the same things they believed in order to raise their child perfectly. And away they went. The plot was so simple, but the story was so beautiful and emotional and I believe anyone that has a family or that is thinking about starting a family would be able to relate to these two.

The performances in this movie were superb to say the least. John Krasinski and Maya Rudolph were casted perfectly for these two roles. The chemistry between the two was also outstanding. And the characters were…oh so real and sweet. They reminded me of my own relationship with my wife. Just like this movie no relationship is perfect, but if two people can accept and embrace that, then the relationship becomes perfect. I’ve always believed that and I think Sam Mendes showed that to us in this film.

Sam took a bit of a different path with Away We Go. In the past his movies have been very dark and sad. In American Beauty we see a distressed man trying to fix a broken family only to be shot and killed after he realizes what he must do to make amends. In Road to Perdition a father desperately tried to protect his son against all odds from people he once worked for and trusted. In Revolutionary Road we witness two selfish people married to one another never to realize that he or she is the problem not the other. In Away We Go we see the complete opposite. We see a couple who truly believe in team work and communication and no matter what they go through they are truly happy because of it. It goes to show you that Sam really knows and understands the concept of the human condition. I applaud him for that and I commend him for making such great films!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

