Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > Obsessed Review

Obsessed Review


Obsessed

I never felt so cheated and used watching a movie. Obsessed was really good, then it turned ugly.

My rating 2.5 Stars

It has been so long since I’ve seen Fatal Attraction, I can’t remember if Michael Douglas’ character Dan actually had an affair with Glen Close’s character Alex or not. Okay, that is a lie, Fatal Attraction came out in ’87 I was too busy watching Back to the Future and Full Metal Jacket over and over to watch anything else. However, I’ve asked some people I know that had watched it and they couldn’t remember themselves.

Why would I care if these two characters actually slept with each other or not and why am I talking about a movie that was released over twenty years ago? The answer is simple. Obsessed, this is the title of the newest Fatal Attractionlike movie starring Beyoncé. I say Fatal Attraction-like, but I should really say Fatal Attraction knock off. The films are identical according to some critics. However, that’s neither here nor there. They made the movie, and this is what I thought of it—I hated it! Why, because it wasted my time. I stayed up late to watch this movie because of time constraints. However, that wasn’t the worst part. The worst part was that I was really into it and suddenly they pulled the rug out from under me. I was not a happy man. When I think of how they came up with the idea for this movie, I think of something like the following:

Some moron was probably up all night trying to come up with an idea to promote Beyoncé. He probably thought, I need to showcase her acting talents and how hot she is. What better way to do that than to have a really cool catfight!? Now that he had the cat fight idea, he thought, “Well people aren’t going to go to the movies just to see a catfight, I know, we’ll make a movie and end it with a cool catfight. Yeah! That sounds GREAT! Crap, now I have to write a screenplay. Oooh, I got it, I’ll look in my DVD collection to see if I can be inspired. What’s this—Fatal Attraction? Yeah, that could work. Beyoncé Knowels as a scorned wife, but what if I get crap from African Americans about the portrayal of a black man cheating on his wife? I got it, he doesn’t have to cheat. I can make the other woman be this insane person and have this fantasy that they had an affair, but it’s all in her head. I’m on a roll now! Crap, black women are really going to be on my case about this crazy lady—I’m a genius, I’ll make her white. White people won’t give a crap. Perfect! White lady has delusions about having an affair with a happily married black man and Beyoncé’s character gets to showcase her acting talents when she finds out about the alleged affair. They are going to be lining up to see this one!”

Okay, I made that up, but I can’t imagine that it’s far from the truth. To be frank the movie wasn’t half bad. I was really into it. The performances were really good, the drama was very intense, it was a good movie, right until they got to the end with that stupid catfight that was supposed to showcase Beyoncé’s acting talent. Up until then I was thinking 3.5 stars easy, if the end is really good 4 stars, but no, the ending was beyond disappointing. It was like you’re eating an ice cream cone on a hot summer day. It looks great with all kinds of cool sprinkles and stuff, it tastes great, it goes down really nice, you’re really enjoying it and then you to take one more lick and the scoop falls on the ground on top of some dog poop. (I don’t know why there was dog poop there, just pretend, will ya?) The movie went screaming down from a strong 3.5 to a 2.5! That ending was laughable, unrealistic, and ridiculous; there aren’t enough negative adjectives to describe the ending of this pile of guano! If you want to see Beyoncé in a good movie, watch Dreamgirls. Or you can watch this movie and turn it off 30 minutes before it ends, you’ll enjoy it a lot more.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

