Home > Random Thoughts > My Oscar Predictions for 2010

My Oscar Predictions for 2010


Who hasn’t heard of the Academy Awards or better known as The Oscars? Every year the academy selects five movies to nominate as best achieving in film, otherwise known as the Best Picture category, but did you know that this year the academy has decided to increase the list to 10 nominations. I don’t know how I feel about that, but I do know this has caused some controversy. Some people think that it decreases the merits of the award, others thinking that is will allow movies that wouldn’t normally be nominated for such an award a fair chance. Everyone has opinion. I think it’s pretty cool. I think it makes the job of the critic a bit more challenging to try and come up with 10 great movies.

Everyone and their brother will be doing predictions for the Oscars, until the day they announce the real nominees on Tuesday, February 2, 2010 and then the debates of who will take home the statue begins till the moment of truth. I have been watching the Oscars ever since I can remember, but I have never attempted to make any predictions. Mostly because when prediction time came around, I’ve only watched a handful of the movies from that year, and I don’t think any of them were award materials. However, this year is a little different. I feel I have watched enough where I can make a prediction of my own. Without any further due.

My nominee predictions for Best Picture:

  1.    An Education
  2.    Avatar
  3.    Inglorious Basterds
  4.    Invictus
  5.    Precious
  6.    Star Trek
  7.    The Blind Side
  8.    The Hurt Locker
  9.    Up
  10.    Up in the Air

My money is on Precious, but I have a funny feeling that Avatar might win it. The Hurt Locker would not be a bad bet either.

As for acting, there were few actors that really blew my mind last year, those were Christoph Waltz in Inglorious Basterds, Mo’Nique in Precious, Elle Fanning in Phoebe in Wonderland, and Maryl Streep in Julie and Julia.

Movie direction is a big toss-up between three movies. Precious, Avatar and The Hurt Locker. I am just so glad that I am not the one voting on this, because these are tough choices. They were all great movies and I enjoyed them very much.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

