Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > Mosters VS Aliens Review

Mosters VS Aliens Review


Monsters VS Aliens

Monsters VS Alien is a ridiculously fun movie to watch from start to finish. It features hysterical pop culture jokes, shots at Spielberg, and great funny characters. Oh, and the animation is awesome!

My rating 4.5 Stars

Between the years 1952 and 1956, US cinema experienced what they called a Golden Era of 3D films. Among these films were a collection of horror films that were very popular at the time. Thus, the American cinema was introduced to the 3D monster B-movies. But what the hell do I know, I wasn’t even born yet! In fact, it sounds awful to me. Monster, B-movies have never really done much for me, I don’t find them funny, I don’t find them scary and I am definitely not impressed with their use of visuals. Thankfully for me, I missed all that and I will never have to experience such bad filmmaking ever.

All right, I am being a little unfair. I know there are some of you who really enjoyed those movies. I am sure that there must be some sort of allure to the genre. To be fair, I have never seen them, so I have no right to judge them. Who knows, I may someday be so bored that I might borrow my mother-in-law’s collection of monster movies just to check out what the big deal is. I may even like them, just don’t hold your breath!

Back to 3D movies,  I have never been a real fan of 3D. I always thought it was a gimmick and that it didn’t add much to the movie’s real experience. I did not see Monsters VS Alien in 3D, but I did see Up in 3D and I must admit I was quite impressed by it. The technology for 3D movies has improved dramatically these past few years and because of that I must say that the golden era of 3D is just about to start. If they start using 3D to enhance the story of a movie as they did with Up instead of just being a some sort of gimmick, then I think we are all for a nice treat, because I hear rumors that Hollywood is pushing hard for more 3D movies. Why? Well, it seems less and less people are going to movie theaters. People are waiting for movies to come out on video. Especially with Netflix, people can watch movies in the comfort of their own homes without ever having to leave their house, without having to step on sticky theater floors, without having to endure some jerk on his cell phone, or without some smelly idiot next to them and with the advent of HDTV’s more and more people are watching movies in their own home theaters.

Currently there are no TV’s that show a good 3D effect. The best 3D technology we have on regular home TV’s is the red and blue glasses that even though you get a 3D effect, it ruins the rest of the picture by turning them into red and blue colors. Nobody wants to see that! Movie producers are taking advantage of this so they are releasing movies in 3D to get you going back to the theaters.

So what does this have to do with Monsters VS Aliens? I think it has a lot to do with it because this is the first animated movie that was developed in 3D from the very beginning, instead of shooting it in the regular 2D and then turning it into 3D as they have done in the past. The 3D is supposed to be part of the movie, not just some useless feature. I really wish I had seen it in 3D, unfortunately I will never know because like everyone else, I waited for it to come out on video so I missed out. I’ll just have to pick up the pieces of my shattered life and move on.

So what about the movie Monsters VS Aliens? As movies go, MVA was a lot of fun to watch. It was funny, no, it was hysterical. There were many references to past and present pop culture and it was so intelligently written and so funny that I laughed so hard, I was crying. I really loved all of the shots they took at Spielberg’s expense. I wonder if he found them as funny as I did.

The plot of MVA is a simple one. Girl becomes a monster; monsters are captured and sent to a maximum security holding facility. It not really a prison, but it is a place that you can never ever leave. Aliens then attack the earth and some genius decides to use the monsters to protect us from the aliens. Like I said, the plot is very simple. What really makes this movie great are the jokes which are just perfect and excellent with their timing. The animation is also quite impressive. They have really come a long way with CGI to impress someone like me who is very picky when it comes to computer generated imagery. Although Up was still a much better movie all around, MVA was really, really funny and well worth checking out, even if you don’t get to see it in 3D.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

