Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > Knowing Review

Knowing Review


Knowing

Knowing is entertaining at times, with cool effects, and an interesting story. However, the bad acting and the bad script prevented this movie from being better.

My rating 2.5 Stars

In the 1983 movie Annie, there was a scene where “Daddy” Warbucks was doing a radio announcement in order to find the real parents of little Annie. Not being familiar with reading a script Warbucks read everything on it, including the stage instructions, like “Drop page.” At the end of the script there was a commercial. Unaware of the ad, Warbucks continued reading all of the content on the page until it was done. When suddenly it dawned on him that he had just done an advertisement, he exclaimed assertively, “Did I just do a commercial?”

I felt something similar after watching Knowing. I was enjoying myself watching this rather entertaining movie when two thirds in I start having some disturbing thoughts. “Am I watching a religious propaganda film?” I’ve said it before, I don’t have a problem with religion, I’ll watch a movie that has a religious message and I have no qualms about it. I enjoyed Not Easily Broken, and  I enjoyed Saved!  Both of these movies were good some parts were even funny, but Knowing wasn’t.

Knowing is about an astrophysics professor at MIT that comes across a piece of paper with a series of seemingly random numbers. After analyzing the series of numbers, he realized that they were in fact a collection of sets of numbers which included: dates, a number count, and a set of coordinates. Using the Internet he did a search for most of the dates and realized that the dates corresponded to major catastrophes where lots of people had died. In fact the number between the coordinates and the date was that number of dead.

The series of numbers was a prediction of every disaster in the past 50 years and some still to come, every single one had come true, but there were three more left, including the last one on the page, but instead of having coordinates it read EE. Puzzling!

This was a good idea. I still like the premise a lot. I think it is very fresh and very creative. However, as you watch the movie, you notice certain “bugs” right away. The first thing that I didn’t like right off the bat was the acting. Not only was it cheesy, but a lot of times it was kind of stupid. Then there was the dialog and the interaction between the characters. They felt so unrealistic that the movie failed to sell its final message. I’ll talk about that final message in a minute.

I’ll give them credit for making such a film. I’ll even give them credit for trying to make this into a serious movie. In the past when movies like this were made, the movie wasn’t treated very seriously, so they spun it with soft comedy to lighten things up. They didn’t do that in this film and that earned points with me. The movie is about the end of life on earth, it is a serious matter, so kudos for not making fun of it. However, it would have been so much better if they had produced a better screenplay. For Pete’s sake they had five writers and this is the best they could do?

Screenplay and acting aside, the movie wasn’t all that bad. My biggest beef was with its religious message. It was very clear to me that this movie is trying to tell me that science can’t save me, but religion can. I didn’t like this message, it was too much like a one sided argument where the other side couldn’t be there to defend itself. I don’t like how they snuck that in at the last minute, I felt cheated and taken advantage of. If the entire movie had focused on that from the beginning, that would’ve been acceptable, but this ambush thing was a low blow and very childish.

Categories: 2009 Movie Reviews
  1. Kat
    November 27, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    I hated this movie, but I attribute most of that to the fact that when Nic Cage opens his mouth all I hear is “I am a giant DB.”

    • November 28, 2009 at 3:47 am

      LOL, this movie did suck. I am not a big Cage fan, but I have seen him act much better than this. Matchstick Men and Adaptation are really good movies and he was great in both. Anyways, the ending of this movie didn’t do much for me. It’s too bad, it could’ve been better.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

