Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire Review

Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire Review


Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire

Precious is an amazing film. If there ever was a movie that was close to perfection Precious blew it right out of the water.

My rating 5.0 Stars

I remember having a rough childhood, but my childhood was nothing compared to what my sister went through. I attribute the differences to the way that Hispanics seem to appreciate their first born child more than the rest, especially when that first born is a male. Granted, my mother wasn’t as bad as others that I remember, however, there were still instances where my mother obviously favored me instead of my sister. So as a result, my sister’s interests were second when it came to mine or even my stepfather’s. So when my sister actually accused my stepfather of inappropriate behavior towards her, my mother actually sided with her husband and my sister ended up in foster care. Even as a young teen and to this day, I still think that she was cheated out of a good childhood.

However, my sister’s life was a dream life compared to the horrible existence that Clareese “Precious” Jones endured in the film Precious. In this film Precious is an overweight teen who is pregnant for the second time by her own father. Precious’ father has been sexually assaulting her since the age of three while her own mother just sat there and let it happen. Not only did she let it happen, but she was actually jealous of her own daughter because her man would rather sleep with Precious than with her.

Precious, lives with her “mother” in a terrible, run down apartment in the Bronx. She is basically a slave to her mother: she has to cook, clean, and always answer all her mother’s vagaries. The mother, Mary, is a horrible person. She is always physically, verbally, and emotionally abusing her own daughter for no reason at all. She accuses her of stealing her man, she makes her eat just to keep her fat, calls her stupid, tells her that nobody loves her, and that she would never amount to anything. Why does she do these things? Why do abusive parents do the things they do anyways?

Mary is the most despicable person I have ever seen on screen or even in real life for that matter. She was portrayed convincingly by Mo’Nique, a comedian and TV talk show host. Mo’Nique’s performance has to be hands down the best performance I have ever seen. She made me hate her character so much, I often forgot that she is actually a comedian instead of the monster she was playing. Mo’Nique is a mother herself, I cannot imagine how she handled this character so well then went home to be a loving mother to her children.

Precious has to be one of the best movies I have ever seen. The entire cast went above and beyond to give incredible performances. There wasn’t one actor in this film who was less than spectacular, including new comer Gabourey Sidibe who played Precious flawlessly.

This is a terrible topic and why would anyone ever choose to see a movie like this? It sounds like it is very difficult to watch. I’ll admit sometimes it is very difficult to watch the interactions between the people that are supposed to love Precious and her. Surprisingly the movie does a great job at being entertaining as well. The producer of this movie did an awesome job at balancing the right amount of serious drama and lightheartedness. I was expecting that I was going to need a pound of tissues to watch this film, amazingly I did not. If anything I was more angry than sad.

Precious is a powerful film. It’s one that everyone should watch. I believe that it has something for everyone. For me, it was the first 30 minutes of the movie as I was taken back to school in the middle of 1987 back to a time when I first came to the States and I spoke no English. My sister and I were in for a rude awakening. I now wonder if this is what she went through.  I wonder if I just saw my sisters’ life through the eye of a camera lens. I really hope not.

Categories: 2009 Movie Reviews
  1. pvdugas
    November 26, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Thanks for this review Victor. I’ve linked your blog and like it very much. It was a difficult movie to watch but I hope more will go see it. Mo’Nique was pure genius in her role as Mary Jones and I like your statement about having to go home to her own children. I’m sure she went home and loved them up even more. Movies like this tend to make you do that. Thank you for sharing. Beautiful review.

    • November 28, 2009 at 3:42 am

      Phyllis, thanks so much for the comment and for linking to my site. I am glad you liked it. I absolutely loved this movie. It is one of my favorites this year. I feel bad for who ever else is running for Supporting Actress in 2010, cause Mo’Nique has the Oscar in the bag!

  2. poisedpen
    January 24, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    Great to see a review from such a personal perspective. I’m happy to report that your post is linked to a recent “Precious” review at the website for Raising Arizona Kids magazine: http://rakstagemom.wordpress.com/2010/01/23/after-precious-the-rain/ Hope you enjoy it…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

