Home > Random Thoughts > Still Going…

Still Going…


This pictures sums it all up!

This pictures sums it all up!

The curling season has finally started. So far I’ve played 3 games. All of which I have skipped and all of which I have lost. Yup, it hasn’t been a good start for me. I should just give up my dream of becoming a great skip. It just isn’t going to happen.

The last game, I played on Tuesday, I was playing against a light team and two of them were brand new curlers. It wasn’t a big mystery why they weren’t making their shots. What was a mystery is how I manage to lose that game? Well, it wasn’t like we were making our shots either. Dave and Linda were having some trouble with their weight, meaning that their draw shots were bouncing off the back board a few feet. To their defense, the ice was pretty crappy, but I guess compared to the alternative it was better than nothing. If you recall we had some trouble in the compressor room on Monday and we almost lost our ice. Thankfully that didn’t happen. It did leave us with crappy ice on Tuesday.

Even I wasn’t playing well. I’ve been trying this new delivery that I really like. It has helped me tremendously with hitting the broom, however I have no freaking clue what draw weight is. So on my last shot of the 7th end, we were tied. I needed to steal a point. I was sitting two. All I had to do was put up a guard to make it hard for my opponent to draw into the four to take one. The worst possible scenario was to leave myself open on the button. I could have done anything else, go through the house, leave it short of the house off center, even if I had been top 12 or even top 8 it would have been fine. No, I put it on the button, so that my opponent could take it right out! Yup, that’s classic me.

I don’t know why I pretend I can do this. I’m not good at it and I never take screwing up very well. I don’t mind losing, I hate screwing up. On a good note thought. I think I made a new friend. Right after the game, much to my surprise I discovered that Dave is a film buff. So while we drank our sorrows away Dave, Amy and I sat there and talked about the movies, for two hours straight.

After our conversation I thought it would be cool to do a pod cast with these guys. The question is how do I convince them to give up their lives to join me in my insane goal of three movies a week? One can dream, right?

My goal is going very smoothly. With curling starting, things get trickier, but I still think I can do it. It’s going to be very tricky when I go to Canada with Pete, Dean and Fred. I am sure I’ll work something out. This will be a great opportunity to start practicing my new goal setting skills.

In the mean time, I’ve been going to the library to study how to write properly. It hasn’t been easy, I just hope some of the stuff I’ve been reading sticks. I am still having some issues with fragments, capitalizing, comma usage, and a whole host of other problems. I know there is a writer in me somewhere. I just need to wake him up!

Categories: Random Thoughts
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

