Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > The Uninvited Review

The Uninvited Review


The Uninvited was by far one of the best movies in January. Great acting, great story line and a shocking twist!

The Uninvited was by far one of the best movies in January. Great acting, great story line and a shocking twist!

My rating 4.5 Stars

Once in a great while comes a movie that completely knocks your socks off. A while ago, I was very impressed with M. Night Shyamalan when he wrote and directed The Six Sense. A year later it was the same with Unbreakable then once again with The Village a few years after. When I was a kid I used to love watching old episodes of The Twilight Zone. That series has to be the best piece of Sci-Fi and horror we have ever witnessed on TV, not only that, but the writing was exquisite. Rod Serling’s dialog was so important to him that he didn’t let his actors’ ad lib anything.

It has been a long time since I’ve seen anything like The Twilight Zone and I really have miss it. I miss the great twisted stories, the longing for the unknown, the cultural references of the time, but most importantly the shocking twists of some of the most popular episodes. I can still remember my reactions to some of them, now that is entertainment.

What does this have to do with The Uninvited? It has everything to do with it, both The Twilight Zone and M. Night’s movies have one thing in common with The Uninvited: A great story, an entertaining eeriness to them, and a pretty sick twisted ending.

I saw The Uninvited yesterday night. In the middle of the night, I woke up and I couldn’t get the movie out of my head. The movie was so shocking that even now I still can’t believe what I saw. It is a special treat to see movies like that. You know the types of movies that keep you up at night thinking about them. I love that.

Netflix had said that I wasn’t going to like this movie. So I had low expectations. However, I am a big Elizabeth Banks fan, so I was looking forward to seeing her play such a different role than she is used to playing. A role like this is usually reserved for a B-Movie actress with little talent. In my opinion, Banks is one of those underrated actresses in Hollywood. You may remember her as Laura Bush in Oliver Stone’s W. I thought she did an amazing job in both of these roles.
In fact, everyone did a great job in this movie, the story is incredible and it wasn’t cheesy in the least. They could have turned this into a big cheese fest. For example, in The Unborn they had a girl screaming every two seconds, they avoided that in this film.

I always try to find something not so positive to balance my reviews, but I honestly can’t find anything bad about this movie. If I must say something negative it would have to be that I was left wanting more. I was tempted to watch the movie for a second time. In fact I think I will do that this weekend.
The Uninvited was rated PG-13. This goes to show you that you don’t need bloody gore to make a great scary movie. If you haven’t seen this movie already, rent it, it’s a must-see especially for those of you who like a good twist in the end.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

