Home > 2009 Movie Reviews > My Bloody Valentine Review

My Bloody Valentine Review


My Bloody Valentine is bloody, gruesome and a hell of a lot of fun to watch.

My Bloody Valentine is bloody, gruesome and a hell of a lot of fun to watch.

I must say, I had little hopes for this movie. After watching The Unborn, I was expecting something similar. I was in for a nice surprise. However silly the name sounds, don’t let that fool you. This movie was really fun to watch. The acting was very convincing, the gore was top notch, and the story was very consistent and interesting. If you’re into horror movies you are going to enjoy this film.

I was sucked in right away from the very beginning. They didn’t waste much time with the action. It reminded me a lot of the old slasher movies of the early eighties, but done better. As in the screaming was kept to a minimum and so were all the run and falls. The movie was kept pretty grounded. In my opinion this adds to the suspense. If your brain thinks it’s real, you get even more frightened.

This movie isn’t about a monster, or a zombie, or some walking dead going around killing hormone filled teens. This movie is about a crazy serial killer that has some weird fetish with mining equipment and it’s out for, revenge? I will never say!

Now, don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a great movie, after all it’s of a slasher type. It’s not going to win any academy awards. However, if there ever were an academy award for best gore, this would win hands down. This movie isn’t going to inspire any intelligent conversations or provoke deep thoughts. What this movie will do is scare the pants out of you, gross you out, and for about an hour and a half provide some good old slasher entertainment. If that sounds like a good time, by all means enjoy. If slasher movies aren’t for you, then by all means skip this one.

My Bloody Valentine isn’t totally perfect though. For some reason or another they decided to make this movie in 3D. I’ve never been a big fan of that gimmick and in this movie that’s just what it is. The movie would’ve been just fine without it. Although it doesn’t take away from the movie, it doesn’t add anything either. There are a few scenes that were meant just for the 3D effect, but at least they didn’t over do it. I also thought the movie was just a bit too long. They really dragged the ending for quite a while.

Categories: 2009 Movie Reviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

